INTERVIEW: Jesse Abraham

19 Jan

Jesse Abraham is not your typical rapper. While being white makes him stand out, being the founder of a tutoring company that tutored more than 200 kids is what makes him unique. Abraham was born in Manhattan and grew up with the emerging ’80s hip hop culture and the eight-track tapes of Run DMC and the Beastie Boys.  Get a closer look at Jesse Abraham…

Jesse your background is rather unique. You are the co-founder of Hartman Tutoring LLC which is a tutoring company that tutors students ranging in age from 3-30 year-olds. Why did you decide to enter the music business?

Actually I’m a musician that became a businessman.  I’ve always been a musician. It has been a constant in my life.  I started making music when I was 7 years old, and hit up the open-mic scene since high school. I am just fortunate that I’ve been able to transform my hobby into a career opportunity.

As an entrepreneur it’s clear you have interests in being independent, professionally and financially, so how does that affect your approach to the music industry? Would you stay independent or do you have dreams of signing with a major label?

Being an independent artist is like running a company. The lessons I’ve learned with starting the tutoring company helped me learn how to promote and navigate my career as an artist. I like being my own boss and have never cared much for authority, so it does make being an independent artists appealing, but I am all for teams. Teamwork is something that I support and believe in. If a group of well-connect and well-financed individuals are willing to support my growth as an artist then I’m all for it.

There are some very hot music labels right now, specifically, Young Money. If the opportunity arose would you ever consider going there?

 The size and prestige of the label isn’t important. I’m all about the details, because those are the only things that actually matter. I would  go to any label that is interested in investing in me as an artist.

Your sound is definitely very different from mainstream hip hop. What would you classify your music as and who do you think would buy your music?  

I wouldn’t expect anyone to buy my music, because that’s not something people do anymore. No, seriously, I feel that my music is universal and has no boundaries.  My work can appeal to any and all demographics, ages and genders.  15 year-old girls getting ready for a night out can rock to my music without even listening to the words. But I also think 30 year-old, real hip hop enthusiasts looking for lyrical content can also play my music. My music is absolutely for everyone. I make fun music with a message.  

 Who has influenced you musically?  

Everything acts as a huge influence for me. Everything I encounter influences what I do. Hip hop was the first music I listened to. Run DMC, Salt n Peppa. I expanded to other types of genres. At one point I was a producer, so I had to sample and that caused me to listen to other genres like pop, country, jazz and soul. I skip any music that has an outright negative sound or content. I don’t enjoy it, I don’t vibe with it and I don’t relate to that. But music that has an angle to it, and that’s sincere then I’ll support it. 

Who are some of your favorite artists?

I like Bubba Sparxxx, Homeboy Sandman,  Mos Def, Mobb Deep, Billie Holiday, Dizzy Rascal, Biggie, Blink 182, and of course Michael Jackson.

 If you could collaborate with anyone who would it be?

I would love to collab with Elvis and James Brown. Then have it produced by Jesus.

 What projects do you have coming up?

I have a new single coming out Feb 1st called “Spiderman on Vitamins” and the video will be out Feb. 3rd. The new EP will be out March 1st, and that’s called “One Day.”  But this year there’s no free music.

